Escape from Granogue “Mudfest” 2009 MTB Race in pics and video


think I mentioned Escape from Granogue in a previous entry.  I knew that I was doing this race the second I saw the bike listed on Chainlove.com and pulled the purchase trigger.  Held in northern Delawhere? on the Dupont family estate during early May, this property is opened up 2x during the year.  Once for this MTB race, E.F.G., and the second time is later in the year for a cyclocross race.

It’s pretty awesome, because the trail riding is badass.  It’s a lot like riding through Brandywine Creek State Park in PA, just across the state line.  Brandywine is awesome — at least I think so.  It’s the most technical riding in the area.  Just rode it today.  Got lost.  Rode some new trails.  Improving skill-wise.  It’s all good.

Anyhow, EFG was on the Sunday of Gordo’s bachelor party.  Be-rad was going to partake in the fun as well, but the down pouring rain nixed that.  Sans hangover, I drove from Gordo’s place to the race site in the rain.  I got backed up in traffic at the intersection near the property entrace.  Traffic wasn’t moving, because there was some kind of horse & buggy parade!  WTF?!?!  I started to geek out and feared that I wouldn’t make it in time to register.  I pulled the car into the opposite lane when no cars were coming, and I floored it down to the corner.  I parked in the field.  I hopped out of the car and started running.  I must have ran close to 1.5mi from where I parked to the table for registering.  I made it in time.

Back to the car, and I was fortunate not to get it stuck in the mud unlike someone else with a BMW 7-series that didn’t know how to drive at all.  Then it became a race to get parked at the race site and get my shit ready.  Having done all that, they had already begun lining up, and off I went.  The rest is best told with pictures.

AG's and skill level groups all lined up and listening to instructions.

AG's and skill levels lined up and ready to go.

Listening to Fatmarc's jokes.

Listening to Fatmarc’s jokes.
The second wave

The second wave

I was definitely a bit nervous.

I was definitely a bit nervous.

And we're off!!!

And we're off!!!

Lotsa hike-a-bike that day!

Lotsa hike-a-bike that day!

Eventhough this was still the first lap, I don't know how the sleeves are still white at that point.

Eventhough this was still the first lap, I don't know how the sleeves are still white at that point.

Ok, they're half white...close to cresting the top of the hill to finish the first lap.

Ok, they're half white...close to cresting the top of the hill to finish the first lap.

To the top and time for the flying mount!

To the top and time for the flying mount!

I'm about to run up the steepest hill on the course, and with all the mud that would cake onto the bike, it would easily 2-3x the weight. Hence the scooping out of mud with my hand...

I'm about to run up the steepest hill on the course, and with all the mud that would cake onto the bike, it would easily 2-3x the weight. Hence the scooping out of mud with my hand...

Here we go!

Here we go!

Halfway there...to the top of the hill and to the finish line.

Halfway there...to the top of the hill and to the finish line.

A slight uphill on pavement to the finish line, but it's in sight!

A slight uphill on pavement to the finish line, but it's in sight!

Coming across the line -- that was certainly taxing!

Coming across the line -- that was certainly taxing!

Somewhere on the 2nd lap I lost the timing chip from my left ankle. It's GONE! ... but who wants a hug?

Somewhere on the 2nd lap I lost the timing chip from my left ankle. GONE!

Even to this day, my bike is still recovering from this carnage. I don't recommend this as a way to break-in a new bike!!!

Even to this day, my bike is still recovering from this carnage. I don't recommend this as a way to break-in a new bike!!!

My teeth even got muddy, but it was a shit ton of fun.

My teeth even got muddy, but it was a shit ton of fun.

~ by jerseyquaker on July 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Escape from Granogue “Mudfest” 2009 MTB Race in pics and video”

  1. sometimes i think you are absolutely insane, the other times, you do cool looking things like this that inspire me to think about possibly getting in shape to them myself. danke

  2. dude, you gotta get these, http://vibramfivefingers.com , i just bought more than i should’ve, and i barely even run. hope they are worth it. check em out!

    you could run AND swim in them.

Leave a Reply

 
