Taking stock and looking ahead


Most recent 5K test effort:  18:15

Most  recent 10K test effort:  38:38

Current FTP:  310W

Vdot:  58

Epace:  7:30/mi

Tpace:  6:08/mi

Half iron swim:  34min

Thursday morning, I travel to San Francisco.  This Sunday is the Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon.  I’m pretty excited and looking forward to this race.  I have no competitive drive to do well, although I do want to treat this like a high intensity workout.  I am excited to get on the boat and jump off.  I am thinking that I will take a waterproof disposable camera with me onto the boat, jump in, snap photos of Alcatraz, the Golden Gate and the city skyline before swimming to shore.  The other day, I found pictures of a guy who did exactly that.  Except, when he started the swim, the skyline was clear.  Then at some point during the swim, the fog rolled in!!!  Shit!  I never thought about that.  It hasn’t given me nightmares yet, but it may help prevent me from sleeping a wink the night before.  Let me see if I can find it real quick…

Ok, found them…

The first 15mins of the swim:

San Francisco skylineSan Francisco skyline

Then the fog rolled in:

Where did it go?Where did it go?

Now, dammit to hell if Idon’t have a hard enough time swimming a straight line in open water and sighting in clear and sunny conditions.  BUT, fog would be treacherous.  I’d end up halfway out to sea.  In that situation, I would hope that they start blaring a horn so that you can swim towards the sound, or they announce through a megaphone.

Once I survive the swim, then it’s all gravy.  I will rent a bike from a shop out there.  There’s no way I’m going through the hassle of transporting my bike all the way there.  If I wanted to be competitive, then I’d take my bike, but that’s not my goal.  Just going to enjoy the bike and hammer away.  18 miles won’t take too long.  Then the run should be interesting.  I will be curious to see how I hold up.  It’s 8 miles.  It’s a lot of hills.  It’s a lot of soft running.  And, hopefully, it’s a lot of fun.  I read that they have timing mats at the bottom and top of the infamous sand ladder to get a split so that you can have a ranking and see who was the fastest up the sand ladder.  Will be looking to charge up it for sure.

This should be a fun trip.  Will get to hang out with Mike and Alanna for a bit.  I will probably see if I can schedule a tour of the prison.  Not sure what else I will tourist.  Hit most of it the last time I was out there with Tavis.

After Alcatraz, my next race will be the Philadelphia Insurance Olympic.  This was my first ever race, and I did it last year as well with a significant improvement fromthe first year.  I am looking to duplicate that kind of improvement at the least.  Will probably rent a disc wheel and a dip dish for it.  Will really be gunning to finish the bike loop in no more than 1hr and look to go sub-40 for the run.  The only reservation I have regarding this race is the # of participants.  It’s looking like there are 2300 people registered for the Olympic!!!  That’s crazy.  I am REALLY glad that I’ll be in the first wave of AGers.  That’s one loop of the bike course congestion-free.  It’ll be like sardines for the second loop.

July will herald my first Xterra race.  That’ll be in Rocky Gap State Park in Maryland.  Can’t wait for this.  Ever since I’ve gotten the mtb, riding has been so much fun.  There’s another Xterra the following weekend in July that’s in western PA somewhere, I think.  I was originally contemplating 4 Xterra races to accumulate my points for the regional championship, but I am thinking that’ll be too much.  Wisconsin is the focus.  That’s the goal.  I’ll need those extra weekends NOT racing Xterra so that I can get my long rides in on the weekends.

September of course is Ironman Wisconsin 2009.  I don’t have the time to really go into detail on that one right now, but my most important logistic that’s outstanding right now is accomodation.  I put a craigslist ad up in Madison for housing wanted, but of course, I didn’t get a reply.

Lastly, I am becoming more and more enamored with the idea of returning to Bethany Beach for the Make-A-Wish Triathlon at Sea Colony.  It’s the weekend after Ironman, and my body might not like it.  BUT, I have the M30-34 AG title to defend!  😉  We’ll see.

~ by jerseyquaker on June 8, 2009.

3 Responses to “Taking stock and looking ahead”

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Internet explorer. Exceptional Blog!

  2. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything. But just imagine if you
    added some great graphics or videos to give
    your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images
    and videos, this site could definitely be one of the best in its field.
    Awesome blog!

  3. Awesome website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same
    topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of online community
    where I can get responses from other experienced people that share the
    same interest. If you have any recommendations,
    please let me know. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
